Author: Tatiana Nezhinskaya
27 Jun. 2019

Игорь Осадчий: «Быть успешным – это быть оцененным»

As a dental surgeon with international practice and 35 years of experience, Igor Osadchiy told us about his understanding of the profession, hobbies, and whether a doctor should have a talent.

• 

• 

May I ask you quite a strange question? Most know musicians, writers, and politicians by name; yet a few remember the names of doctors and medical scientists, although their inventions help them at least once in their life. Why is that?

Maybe because what they are doing is associated with pain and sufferings. Because when the pain goes away, so does the memory of those who enjoyed the fruits of their labor. The teachers I knew are outstanding people. They remained in my mind. They remained in history. My colleagues and the medical community remember them.

What do you think when people need you only when it hurts?

It is absolutely normal. It is the way it goes. They think about us when they feel bad and need us, and when everything is fine, nobody needs us. And I, frankly speaking, even like it. We should not be everyday heroes.

• 

• 

Why did you choose this particular profession?

My dad is a military pilot. He is my hero, my icon. I grew up in an army environment, among courageous and strong people, for whom the phrase "This is an honor!" was not empty words. And my mom left the medical university after three years of studies to devote her life to the family and moved with my dad from one military unit to another from Sakhalin to the Baltic. I had a choice between the military profession and the profession of a doctor.

I was lucky to have an exceptional person in my life – my grandfather, who spent much time with me. Once he said: "I survived a terrible war. You have to choose for yourself a profession that could protect you and help others." And when I entered medical school, I realized that it was my profession – I liked absolutely everything. As for the specialization, I wanted to be a plastic surgeon to work in aesthetic and reconstructive medicine. When I entered, I was sent to the dental faculty just because they dealt with maxillofacial surgery. I liked everything. I regret nothing and would go my way again, without a doubt.

Should a doctor have a talent?

Sure! You certainly need to polish your knowledge and skills; you need to burn with enthusiasm. But talent is a must-be. I call it "neuroleptic connection", i.e., the connection between your brain and your hands. It is hard to train if one does not have it.

• 

• 

Should a doctor love people?

Doctors face pain and sufferings. How can I be heartless? You must love people. Do I love people in society – that depends. But I treat my patients with respect and love.

When I was young, I worked as an intern at the maxillofacial surgery department in Kyiv. One day an ambulance brought a woman in a very severe condition. I saw her daughter, who came to me and said: "Please, save my mother!" You cannot even imagine what I felt at that moment! A newbie doctor talking to a 17-year-old girl who understood that the girl's mother had a severe blood disease, I couldn't help her. But I did the surgery. This woman smiled at me and said thank you. And her daughter was also very grateful. The next morning the woman died… I can hardly describe what I felt then… Do I love people? Certainly!

How many years have you been practicing medicine? Can you say you are used to pain?

I have been for 35 years in medicine and cannot imagine my life without my profession. If I cannot practice as a dental surgeon, I will help others with my advice and recommendations. When it comes to pain, so-called defense mechanisms of your psyche help to cope with it, but no one can get used to pain and sufferings.

• 

• 

Why do you think dentistry is the most growing sector of medicine?

Changes are underway in all sectors of medicine. I think dentistry is the most financially intensive medical sector. Probably, no other area of medicine sees such financial flows. I have recently visited a dental exhibition in Cologne. It was not the first international expo I have seen in my life – I’ve already been in Shanghai and Moscow... But the Cologne Expo was an inspiring experience – it is amazing to see how digital technology can be applied in dentistry! I think this is just because we can pay for all these inventions. I cannot imagine how such technology can be covered, for example, by a general practitioner.

As digital technology develops, does the role of a doctor weaken?

Just the opposite – the doctor’s role even grows. Indeed, today’s dentist must have an excellent background, both technical and medical. If a dentist does not know his primary profession, the technology will hardly be of help. In other words, technology is helpful but is not a key to excellence.

Every professional has his signature. What are your professional style and approach?

I think I am a representative of the classical school and follow the basic tenets of my school. I am interested in marketing and innovations, but the traditional principles – do no harm, help people – are much more crucial for me. I never do surgery unless clearly indicated.

• 

• 

What are the professional achievements you are most proud of?

You know, I have never sought fame or ministerial posts. I am proud of my skills. I am proud of what I can do, and I believe that I can do a lot of things. As for official recognition, I am proud of my Ph.D. research and international awards. My clinic has recently got SIQS Quality Certificate, and I have got an award from International Socrates Committee (Oxford) for my achievements in maxillofacial surgery.

And how did they know about you?

I have visited 56 countries so far. Probably, I am more popular abroad than in Ukraine. I cooperate with doctors from the USA, Italy, and Germany. Now I have an exciting project with Dijon Institute of Plastic Surgery, France. We share our experience and make study tours for specialists from France to Ukraine and vice versa. So, I have lots of foreign clients. They come to me not because my services are cheaper, but because they value quality and me as a specialist.

Do you combine the management of your clinic and professional practice?

I have built my clinic myself. I was a foreman and a cleaner. Building a clinic was a very challenging project – every item had to meet the standards and regulations. Every tile and every door has its design description. For example, the walls in my radiology department are protected with baric coating, and the door is lead. And there are many other examples. I also did all the legal documents myself. I have built the clinic and then contracted a manager. Management and dental practice are different things. I do not even delve into financial matters.

• 

 

 

• 

When can a doctor confidently say he/she is successful?

I think that a successful doctor is the one who is valued by both colleagues and patients. Success in my profession certainly depends on money, but this is not the ultimate goal. Fortunately, my colleagues respect me, and my patients appreciate what I am doing. Am I successful in the social sphere? I do not know. I think I have everything for a good life.

Anton Chekhov once said that medicine is his lawful wife, and literature is his mistress. What are your hobbies?

Chekhov is a genius. I adore him. But I think he fibbed a little because he worked in medicine and switched to another profession, just like Bulgakov and Veresaev. When I was on Sakhalin, I learned how Chekhov treated convicts. He certainly did much more in literature.

As for my hobbies, I love fine art. I know gallery owners, artists, and art historians. I helped much with the organization of exhibitions – these all gave me emotions. I also love history, in particular, the history of Kyiv. And all my life I go in for sports. Maybe now I am not very active in sports, but still, go to the gym at least three times a week.

• 

Photo: Oleksandr Serbinov​
Filming & editing: Vlad Pustovit​
Location: Dental clinic of doctor Osadchy
Translation: Global Translation Services 1+1​
Production: MilliON

Views: 60

Recommend reading

Четыре победителя турнира получили право представлять Украину на международном финале

Следующее поколение Jaguar XJ станет электрокаром

Новый агент 007 — женщина

Автор: Tatiana Nezhinskaya
27 Июн. 2019

Игорь Осадчий: «Быть успешным – это быть оцененным»

Хирург-стоматолог с мировой практикой и 35-летним опытом работы Игорь Осадчий рассказал о своем понимании сути профессии, о своих увлечениях и о том, должен ли врач обладать талантом. 

 

  Хочу начать с немного нестандартного вопроса. В обществе очень много людей, которые знают имена музыкантов, писателей, политиков. Но очень немногие знают имена врачей и ученых в области медицины, хотя многими их изобретениями хоть раз в жизни пользовался каждый. Почему так?

Может потому, что их деятельность связана с болью и страданиями. Потому что когда уходит боль, тогда уходит и память у тех людей, которые пользовались плодами их труда. Учителя, которых я знал, – великие люди. Они остались в моей памяти, они остались в истории. Среди коллег, в медицинских кругах, их помнят.

  Как вы относитесь к тому, что в вас нуждаются только тогда, когда больно?

Абсолютно нормально. Я думаю, что так и должно быть. О нас вспоминают, когда плохо и когда мы нужны, а когда все хорошо, то в нас не нуждаются. И мне это, честно говоря, даже нравится. Мы не должны быть каждодневными героями.

  Почему вы выбрали именно эту профессию?

Мой папа – военный летчик. Мой герой, мой идеал. Я рос в военной среде, среди мужественных, сильных людей, для которых фраза «Честь имею!» была не пустым звуком. А моя мама ушла с третьего курса медицинского университета, чтобы посвятить себя семье и ездить с папой от Сахалина до Прибалтики по разным военным городкам. У меня был выбор между профессией военного и врача.

А еще у меня в жизни был один особенный человек – мой дед, который занимался моим воспитанием. Он сказал: «Я пережил страшную войну. Ты должен выбрать для себя такую профессию, которая могла бы тебя защитить и дать возможность помогать людям». И когда я поступил в медицинский институт, я понял, что это мое – мне нравилось абсолютно все. Что касается специализации, то я однозначно хотел быть пластическим хирургом, который занимается эстетической и реконструктивной медициной. Когда я поступал, меня отправили на стоматологический факультет именно потому, что там было это направление челюстно-лицевой хирургии. Мне нравилось все. Я ни о чем не жалею, и повторил бы свою судьбу без сомнений.

  Нужен ли врачу талант?

Безусловно! Нужно шлифовать свои навыки и умения, нужно гореть тем, что ты делаешь. Но талант должен быть обязательно. Я это называю «нейролептическая связь», то есть связь между твоим мозгом и твоими руками. Очень трудно этому научить, если у человека этого нет.

  А должен ли врач любить людей?

Мы в профессии сталкиваемся с болью, со страданием. Как я могу относиться к этому без души? Обязательно нужно любить людей. Люблю ли я людей в обществе – по-разному бывает. А к своим пациентам однозначно отношусь с уважением и любовью.

Я работал врачом-ординатором в челюстно-лицевом хирургическом отделении в Киеве. Ко мне по скорой привезли в тяжелом состоянии женщину. Вслед за этой женщиной в больницу вбежала ее дочка. Когда она вошла ко мне и сказала: «Спасите мою маму!», вы не представляете, что я пережил! Я – молодой врач, передо мной – юная девочка лет 17-ти, а я знаю, что у ее мамы тяжелое заболевание крови, и я не смогу ей помочь. Но я сделал операцию. Эта женщина мне улыбнулась, поблагодарила. Дочка тоже очень благодарила. А утром ее мама умерла… Мне трудно описать вам своё состояние… Люблю ли я людей? Конечно.

  Сколько лет вы в медицине? Можно ли сказать, что вы привыкли к боли?

Я занимаюсь своим делом 35 лет и не мыслю себя без профессии. Если не смогу заниматься хирургической практикой, то буду советом помогать другим. Что касается боли, то, с точки зрения психологии, включаются так называемые защитные механизмы психики, и это очень важно. Но привыкнуть к боли и страданиям невозможно.

  Почему, как вам кажется, стоматология – самая динамично развивающаяся отрасль?

Во всех отраслях медицины сейчас происходят изменения. Что касается стоматологии, то, я думаю, потому, что стоматология – самая финансово ёмкая отрасль медицины. Наверное, ни в одной области медицины нет таких финансовых потоков, как здесь. Я недавно был в Кельне на стоматологической выставке. Это не первая выставка в моей жизни, я был и в Шанхае, и в Москве… Но Кельн меня поразил – с приходом цифровых технологий их применение в стоматологии просто потрясающее! Думаю, это именно потому, что мы можем все эти изобретения оплатить. Я не могу себе представить, как подобные технологии может оплатить, например, врач терапевт.

  А с развитием цифровых технологий роль самого доктора не ослабевает?

Я думаю, что наоборот – даже усиливается. Потому что современный стоматолог должен быть образованным и в техническом, и в профессиональном плане. Если он не знает своей базовой профессии, то технологии ему не помогут. То есть технологии помогают, но не обеспечивают профессионализм.

  У каждого профессионала есть свой почерк. Расскажите, в чем заключается ваш стиль и ваш подход?

Я считаю себя представителем классической школы. Поэтому руководствуюсь главными постулатами своей школы. Меня интересуют маркетинг и новшества, но прежде всего – классические вещи: не навреди, помоги. Я никогда не делаю операцию без абсолютных показаний.

  Какими достижениями в своей профессии вы гордитесь?

Вы знаете, я никогда не стремился к славе, не хотел министерских должностей. Я горжусь своими навыками, горжусь тем, что я умею, и считаю, что могу очень многое. Что касается официальных заслуг, то я горжусь своей диссертацией; есть у меня и международные награды. Одна из последних: Международный Сократовский комитет (Оксфорд) наградил мою клинику швейцарским сертификатом качества  SIQS, а меня – за мою деятельность в области челюстно-лицевой хирургии.

  А как они о вас узнали?

За свою жизнь я посетил 56 стран мира. Наверное, я больше популярен за границей, чем в Украине. Я сотрудничаю с врачами из США, Италии, Германии. Сейчас у меня очень интересный проект во Франции – Институт пластической хирургии города Дижона. Мы обмениваемся опытом и возим группы специалистов из Франции в Украину и наоборот. Поэтому у меня очень много иностранных клиентов. Они обращаются ко мне не потому, что дешевле, а потому, что ценят качество и ценят меня как специалиста.

  Совмещаете ли вы управление своей клиникой с профессиональной деятельностью?

Свою клинику я строил сам. Я был и прорабом, и уборщиком. Кстати, когда я ее строил, было довольно сложно, потому что каждая деталь должна была соответствовать нормам и требованиям стандарта. Каждая плиточка, каждая дверь имеет свое проектное описание. Например, в моем отделении рентгенологии стены покрыты защитной бариевой штукатуркой, а дверь сделана из свинца. И таких примеров много. Все юридическую составляющую я тоже делал сам. То есть клинику я создал и передал управляющему. Потому что управлять и заниматься профессиональной деятельностью – это разные вещи. Я даже в финансовую составляющую не вникаю.

 

  Какой врач сможет с уверенностью назвать себя успешным человеком?

Я думаю, что успешный человек – это человек, которого ценят и коллеги, и пациенты. Успех в моей профессии, безусловно, зависит от денег, но это не главное. К счастью, меня уважают мои коллеги и ценят мои пациенты. Насколько я успешен в социальной сфере – не знаю. Мне кажется, для хорошей жизни у меня есть все.

  Антон Чехов как-то сказал, что медицина – его законная жена, а литература – любовница. Какие у вас есть увлечения?

Чехов – гениальный человек, я его очень люблю. Но мне кажется, что он слукавил, потому что, работая в медицине, он перешел в другую профессию, так же, как Булгаков, Вересаев. Я был на Сахалине и ознакомился с тем, как Чехов лечил каторжан. Но все же в литературе он сделал намного больше.

Что касается моих увлечений, то я очень люблю изобразительное искусство. Я знаю галеристов, художников, искусствоведов; участвовал в организации выставок – это эмоции. Кроме того, я люблю историю, в частности историю Киева. И всю жизнь я занимаюсь спортом. Может быть, сейчас уже не так активно, но минимум три раза в неделю я хожу в спортзал.

Photo: Oleksandr Serbinov​
Filming & editing: Vlad Pustovit​
Location: Dental clinic of doctor Osadchy
Translation: Global Translation Services 1+1​
Production: MilliON

Просмотров: 64

Рекомендуем почитать

Гвен Стефани продала свой особняк за $ 21 миллион

Капсула Calvin Klein посвящена высадке «Аполлона-11» на Луну

День Независимости: Топ-20 интересных фактов об Украине