Author: Andrew Ostapchuk
21 Nov. 2019

Vasiliy Khmelnytsky: “The only value today is the knowledge and skills to apply it”

Special Project by Million & Andrew Ostapchuk “Richest 100 people in Ukraine”

Vasiliy Khmelnytsky is a famous Ukrainian businessman, founder of the holding company UFuture, which includes social and business projects of the total cost of $1 billion.

He is among the richest 100 people in Ukraine with a $240 million fortune.

At 18 he was a gas-electric welder, building and construction department master in Leningrad (Saint Petersburg).

At the age of 28, he was engaged in metal sales and made his first $500 thousand.

At 32, he was elected a People’s Deputy of Ukraine.

At the age of 33, he became the majority shareholder of Zaporizhstal.

At 36 he launched the largest premium-class apartment complex in Eastern Europe “Novopecherskie Lipki”.

At 50 he became the founder of the first innovative park in Ukraine UNIT.City.

Today he is engaged in the development of investment projects, among which there are:  UDP, UDP Renewables, Biopharma, Kyiv Sikorsky Airport, Bila Tserkva Industrial Park, UNIT.City, UNIT.City Kharkiv and LvivTech.City, InSoft, RTM-Ukraine, Plank Electrotechnic, K.Fund, etc.

Vasiliy, there was no interview in which you told about how you had made your first seed capital.

Everyone likes the proverb “I’ll tell you about everything, except how I got my first million”. You see, that’s not right. It is for the people who justify their inactivity: they prefer thinking someone has stolen his first million. I am sure, 95% of rich people made the seed capital with their hard work.

I was in Saint Petersburg, studied at LETI and worked in a cooperative. After the collapse of the USSR, I incorporated my cooperative. I started with building - roofing. At the same time, I studied at the institute in the evenings and worked in the main job in the daytime because I needed permanent registration.

Yes, and you saved up $ 180 K, I know this story. Give us the details: the moment when you were a worker and then decided, “No, I’ll hire someone from now”.

It doesn’t work like that. There is no “decided”. Firstly, I used to be a worker, I handed mortar. The mason was laying bricks and I handed mortar to him. In three months I became a mason myself. I lived in the dormitory with many other construction workers. This is how the idea of establishing my construction crew was born (I hired five persons and became a master). After a while, I received a big order and gathered more people. That is how I grew up from the worker’s assistant to the deputy chief of the cooperative.

I will tell you a story which taught me a lot at that time. Well, I am 24 and my director is 26. We come to a large plant and find a construction manager. It is a man of 50 years old, already experienced. And here we are, two young guys: “We wish to receive a building order”. He told us, “Guys, it’s a plant with hundreds of millions of turnover, we work with large corporations. Look at us and look at you!” I tell him, “It is clear”, and I’m ready to leave. And my director, only two years older than I, stayed. And he offered to get their corridor in order in three days for free. We spent 500 rubles, hired workers and brought that order over the weekend. 500 rubles was good money at that time, we took quite a risk. But later on over three years, we got 10-million orders from that plant.

That’s how I got my initial business experience and first $180 K. And after the collapse of the USSR, at the age of 26, I returned to Ukraine.

How did you store the money at that time?

All my money was invested in something. When I was going to Ukraine, I purchased petroleum products from Angarsk. I had already arrived, meanwhile, the oil was still on the way. We, the businessmen, never see the money. For us, it doesn’t matter whether we have a billion dollars or one hundred thousand; because it is just in figures.

Let us talk about small and medium-sized businesses. How to increase the percentage of such enterprises in our country?

The enterprise creation is not business: people may register the company but do nothing. There are so many enterprises in the tax register but almost no functional or successful small and medium-sized businesses.

We, as a large business, do a lot to support starting entrepreneurs nowadays. But it should be the priority of the state. I am sure that the economy today may be re-launched by the effective Ukrainian small productions and creative startups.

UFuture invests in ecosystem-specific solutions for small and medium-sized businesses. It includes UNIT.City, the free programming school UNIT.Factory, MSP School, new UNIT School of Business, industrial accelerator INDAX, and our forums.

A businessman is a job. I’m often told, like, “I don’t need your lessons, give me the money”. And such kind of people has no money because they don't have knowledge.

It is also important to understand that a businessman does not always need great knowledge. I’m often asked, “Vasiliy Ivanovich, what books should I read to be a businessman?” I give them three books; in a month they return and ask again: “What to read next?” And I say: “You see, you don’t need to read so many books. Read just one and start acting”.

I’ll tell you one more story. I was 28 when I visited Thailand for the first time. I noticed that a pair of shoes there cost $9, its price at the factory was $6, meanwhile in Kyiv it cost $42. I quickly considered: the profit is not bad - $36! I hurried to buy a container of shoes and while it was transported to Ukraine, I rented a space for the shop. And only upon the arrival of shoes, I found out what VAT, import duty and costs meant. When I calculated and added salaries, it turned out that the profit was not $36 but $5 the maximum. Only then I understood what business meant. But the most interesting thing was that I didn’t lose money on it. That time the wages in the port of Mariupol were partly distributed in hryvnyas and partly in dollars. But dollars were not given, they could only be exchanged for something. So, we sold the shoes to the workers for $42.

That’s why, if you wish to be a businessman, read one book and start acting!

Can you tell us about your way: how did $180 thousand turns into $1 million?

After my relocation to Ukraine, we supplied petroleum products. We bought oil and petroleum products in Angarsk and sold them in Kyiv. I don’t know whether you have caught those days or not, but the point is that the inflation at that time was about 200% a month. That is why we decided to hedge: we acquired metal from Zaporizhstal and exported it. The proceeds of that transaction made up 1,000%.

1998 was the year of your bankruptcy. W1hy did you go bankrupt?

Why only me? Then everyone went bankrupt. It was such a crisis that only very few of us survived. I can’t call it the bankruptcy, my balance was 200 million in the red.

What did you feel that moment?

It was a bit like I lost my wallet: it has gone but you will buy the new one and will work in a new manner. That time there was no tragedy and there would be no tragedy now if I lost business or money again. The important thing is that you have instruments, skills, and your team.

“Mistakes sometimes teach us even better than victory”. What conclusion did you draw from 1998?

Mistakes always teach us better. We need to hedge the risks. Yes, it’s great to do one business professionally and to live it. But my experience suggests me better to have 3-4 businesses in different spheres.

You promote that small and medium-sized business is the engine of the economy. How to increase the share of a small and medium-sized business in Ukraine?

Unfortunately, it is not reputational to be a businessman in Ukraine. It is our big sorrow. I am sure that a businessman is a big man who takes risks, assumes responsibility, studies, creates workplaces, pays taxes and strengthens the economy. Entrepreneurship must be an honorable thing.

What else I wish to ask you is: when did you give up expensive and status things? You are not even wearing watches at the moment…

At the age of 40. I started learning and reading more, and I realized that there was no value in material things. The only value today is the knowledge and skills to apply it.

One friend of mine often gives me books to read. His status is above mine and firstly I just wanted to please him and read a book to have something to talk about. Later on, I got drawn into it and understood that it was great. I have already had an experience and when I read about something I’ve already come across, I say “Exactly!” And it excites me, I study a lot. Once or twice a year my team and I go to the USA, Israel, China, and Europe to study. Every day my TOP-managers and I invest 2-3 hours of our working time into learning.

What did you read yesterday?

Yesterday I re-read and was thinking over the phrase of one author about wealth, the basic message of which is that big money causes big problems. And that a person of an average level of wealth and average consumption is happier than the one who owns 10 - 100 million. Because happiness is to live a happy life where the money is just the instrument but not the goal in itself.

Yesterday I had a thought that at the age of 60 I wish to own $100 million. Now I possess more but I wish to spend a certain part for the creation of an ecosystem that could give new values to people and help them to become more successful. And at 70 I want to have $50 million, at 80 - $10 million. I am ready to spend my experience, knowledge, and money to create opportunities for the success and happiness of the Ukrainians.

I am fairly happy when strangers come to me, shake my hand, thank me for what I have done without asking for money. It is great! It has never occurred to me before but today I measure business success with its impact, among other things.

When people are truly grateful for big projects you have implemented, probably, it is just the sense of a good life.

Photo: Oleksandr Serbinov

Translation: Maria Terekhova

Location: UNIT.City

Production: IT's media production

Recommend reading

Сlaude Monet. About great search for light

Serhii Stakhov – The Oyster King: “My dream is to make seafood available for Ukrainians”

Хто надійніший? Експерти склали рейтинг кросоверів з пробігом

Автор: Andrew Ostapchuk
21 Ноя. 2019

Василий Хмельницкий: «Сегодня ценность – только в знаниях и в умении их применить»

Спецпроект Million & Андрей Остапчук «100 самых богатых людей Украины»

Василий Хмельницкий – известный украинский предприниматель, основатель холдинговой компании UFuture, в которую входят социальные и бизнес-проекты общей стоимостью $1 млрд.

Входит в список 100 самых богатых людей Украины с состоянием в $240 млн.

В 18 лет работал газоэлектросварщиком, мастером строительно-монтажного управления в Ленинграде (Санкт-Петербург).

В 28 лет занимался продажей металла и заработал свои первые  $500 тыс.

В 32 года стал народным депутатом Украины.

В 33 становится ключевым владельцем «Запорожстали».

В 36 лет запустил самый крупный в Восточной Европе ЖК премиум-класса «Новопечерские Липки».

В 50 лет стал основателем первого в Украине инновационного парка UNIT.City.

Сегодня занимается развитием инвестиционных проектов, среди которых: UDP, UDP Renewables, Biopharma, Kyiv Sikorksy Airport, Bila Tserkva Industrial Park, UNIT.City, UNIT.City Kharkiv и LvivTech.City, InSoft, PTM-Украина, Plank Electrotechnic, K.Fund и другие.

Василий, ни в одном видео-интервью вы не рассказывали о том, как сделали свой первый стартовый капитал.

Все любят пословицу: «Я расскажу обо всем, кроме того, как сделал свой первый миллион». Знаете, это неправда. Это для людей, которые оправдывают свою бездеятельность: они хотят думать, что кто-то там свой первый миллион украл. Убежден, что 95% богатых людей заработали свой первый капитал своим трудом.

Я был в Санкт-Петербурге, учился в ЛЭТИ и работал в кооперативе. После того как развалился СССР, я сделал свой кооператив. Начал со строительства – крыл крыши. При этом вечером учился в институте, а днем еще и работал на постоянной работе, потому что мне нужна была прописка.

Да, и накопили свои первые $180 тыс., это я знаю. Расскажите детали: тот момент, когда вы были рабочим, а потом решили – «нет, теперь я кого-то найму».

Так не работает. Не бывает такого «решил». Сначала я был рабочим – носил раствор. Каменщик кладет кирпичи, а я ему подношу раствор. После трех месяцев уже сам стал каменщиком. Я жил в общежитии, где было много строителей.  Так возникла идея создать свою бригаду (взял пять человек и стал мастером). Через время я получил больший заказ – собрал больше людей. И так я с помощника рабочего за три года дорос до заместителя начальника кооператива.

Я вам расскажу историю, которая меня многому научила в то время. Итак, мне 24 года, а моему директору – 26. Мы приходим на крупный завод, находим начальника по строительству. Сидит мужичок лет 50-ти, такой уже опытный. А тут два парня: «Мы хотим получить у вас заказ на строительство». Он говорит: «Ребята, у нас завод – сотни миллионов оборотов, мы работаем с крупными корпорациями. Ну, где вы и где мы?» Я говорю: «Все понятно» и собираюсь уходить. А мой руководитель, который на два года меня старше, остался. И предложил бесплатно за три дня в их коридоре навести порядок. И мы потратили 500 рублей, наняли рабочих и за выходные навели порядок. 500 рублей по тем временам были хорошие деньги, мы здорово рисковали. Но за три года потом получили от этого завода заказов на 10 миллионов.

Так я и заработал свой первый предпринимательский опыт и первые $180 тысяч. А после распада СССР, в 26 лет, вернулся в Украину.

Как вы хранили тогда свои деньги?

Все деньги были в чем-то. Я, когда ехал в Украину, проплатил покупку нефтепродуктов с Ангарска. Я уже сюда приехал, а масло еще шло. Мы, предприниматели, никогда не видим денег. У нас – что миллиард долларов, что сто тысяч. Мы их никогда не осознаем, потому что они в цифрах просто.

Поговорим о малом и среднем бизнесе. Как увеличить процент таких предприятий в нашей стране?

Открытие предприятия еще не является бизнесом: люди зарегистрировали предприятие, и ничего не делают. По налоговой базе предприятий много, а реально и успешно работающего малого и среднего бизнеса в Украине практически нет.

Мы, как крупный бизнес, сегодня многое делаем для поддержки начинающих предпринимателей. Но это должен быть государственный приоритет. Я убежден, что перезапуск экономики сегодня могут сделать эффективные украинские малые производства и креативные стартапы.

UFuture инвестирует в экосистемные решения для малого и среднего бизнеса. Это и UNIT.City, и бесплатная школа программирования UNIT.Factory, и Школа МСП, и новая UNIT Sсhool of Business, производственный акселератор INDAX, наши форумы.

Предприниматель – это профессия. Мне часто говорят, мол, не надо меня учить – дайте денег. Да у таких людей нет денег именно потому, что у них нет знаний.

Но еще важно понимать, что предприниматель – это не всегда высокие знания. Тоже часто спрашивают: «Василий Иванович, какие книги почитать, чтобы стать предпринимателем?» Я даю три книги, и через месяц меня опять спрашивают: «Что дальше читать?» Я говорю: «Слушай, тебе не надо столько книг читать. Прочитай одну и начни действовать».

Расскажу еще одну историю. Мне было 28 лет, когда я впервые приехал в Таиланд. Я смотрю, а там обувь стоит $9, а на фабрике – $6, а в Киеве – $42. Я быстро посчитал: ничего себе прибыль – $36! Я быстро купил контейнер обуви, и пока она шла, я уже снял помещение под магазин. И вот, когда обувь пришла, я и познакомился с НДС, с импортной пошлиной, с затратами. И когда я посчитал и добавил заработную плату, то оказалось, что прибыли вовсе не $36, а хоть бы осталось $5. И тогда-то я понял, что такое предпринимательство. Но самое интересное, я не потерял на этом денег. Тогда в Мариупольском порту заработную плату выдавали частично в гривнах, а частично в долларах. Но доллары не выдавали, их можно было только на что-то обменять. И вот рабочим мы и продали обувь по $42.

Поэтому, если хотите быть предпринимателем, – прочитайте одну книгу и начинайте действовать!

Можете рассказать путь: как $180 тысяч превратились в $1 миллион? 

После переезда в Украину мы поставляли нефтепродукты. Мы в Ангарске покупали масло и нефтепродукты, а продавали в Киеве. Тогда были купоны. Я не знаю, застали вы то время или нет, но суть в том, что инфляция была в месяц под 200%. Поэтому мы решили хеджироваться: купили металл на «Запорожстали» и продали его на экспорт. У нас прибыль по сделке была 1000%.

1998 год – банкротство. Почему вы обанкротились?

Почему только я? Тогда все обанкротились. Такой кризис был, что выжили только единицы. Я не могу назвать это банкротством – у меня баланс был минус 200 миллионов.

Что вы чувствовали в тот момент?

Это примерно такое же впечатление, как будто бы ты потерял кошелек: его уже нет, но купишь новый, и по-новому будешь работать. У меня тогда не было и сейчас не будет трагедии, если я потеряю бизнес или потеряю деньги. Главное, что у тебя есть инструменты, навыки, команда.

«Ошибки иногда учат даже лучше, чем победы». Какой вывод вы сделали после 98-го года?

Ошибки всегда лучше учат. Надо хеджировать риски. Да, очень круто заниматься профессионально одним бизнесом и жить этим, но мой опыт говорит мне, что лучше я буду иметь 3-4 бизнеса в разных направлениях.

Вы пропагандируете то, что малый и средний бизнес – это двигатель экономики. Как в Украине увеличить долю малого и среднего бизнеса?

В Украине, к сожалению, не репутационно быть предпринимателем. Это наше большое горе. Я уверен, что предприниматель – это крутой человек, который рискует, берет на себя ответственность, учится, создаёт рабочие места, платит налоги и поднимает экономику. Предпринимательство должно быть почетно.

Меня еще вот такой момент интересует: когда вы отказались от дорогих и статусных вещей? На вас сейчас даже часов нет…

В 40 лет. Я начал больше учиться и больше читать, и понял, что ценности в материальных вещах нет. Сегодня ценность – только в знаниях и в умении их применить.

У меня есть друг, который мне очень часто дает книги. Он по статусу выше меня, и первые разы мне хотелось просто сделать ему приятное – почитать книгу, чтобы было о чем поговорить. А потом я втянулся и понял, что это очень круто. Я уже имел опыт, и когда я в книге читаю то, что я уже прошел, я говорю: «Точно так!» И меня это заводит, я очень много учусь. Мы с командой два-три раза в год ездим учиться в США, Израиль, Китай, Европу. Ежедневно я и мои топ-менеджеры инвестируем в обучение новому 2-3 часа своего рабочего времени.

Что вчера читали?

Вчера я перечитывал и обдумывал фразу одного автора о богатстве, смысл которой сводился к тому, что большие деньги создают большие проблемы. И что при среднем уровне достатка и среднем потреблении человек более счастлив, чем если бы имел 10-100 миллиардов. Потому что счастье – это прожить счастливую жизнь, при которой деньги – это инструмент, а не самоцель.

У меня вчера такая мысль появилась, что я в 60 лет хочу иметь $100 миллионов. Сейчас у меня больше, но я хочу часть потратить на создание экосистемы, которая давала бы людям новые ценности и помогала бы им стать более успешными. А в 70 лет я хочу, чтобы у меня было $50 миллионов, а в 80 лет – $10 миллионов. Я готов к тому, чтобы тратить свой опыт, знания и деньги на то, чтобы создавать возможности для успеха и счастья украинцев.

Мне объективно приятно, когда ко мне подходят незнакомые люди, жмут руку, благодарят за сделанное и не просят денег. Это круто! Раньше я не задумывался об этом, а сегодня измеряю успех бизнесов их импакт-влиянием в том числе.

Когда люди действительно благодарны за твои реализованные большие проекты,  – наверное, в этом и есть смысл хорошей жизни.

Photo: Oleksandr Serbinov
Location: UNIT.City
Translation: Maria Terekhova

Production: It's Media Production

Просмотров: 88

Рекомендуем почитать

Вишивка майстра Walker Boyes

Бекстейдж интервью Алины Савенковой - тренера Фитнес-центр "Gymmaxx"

Контрацептивные ювелирные украшения могут предложить новый подход к планированию семьи